Kuwait on the map

Kuwait, officially the State of Kuwait Listeni/kuːˈweɪt/ (Arabic: دولة الكويت‎ Dawlat al-Kuwayt ), is an Arab country in Western Asia. Situated in the northern edge of Eastern Arabia at the tip of the Persian Gulf, it shares borders with Iraq to the north and Saudi Arabia to the south. According to CIA, Kuwait has a population of 2.6 million as of 2012.

Geographical Feature of Kuwait

Kuwait consists of six governorates:

Al-Asimah or Al-Kuwait :
Al-Asimah or Al-Kuwait covers an area of 200 sq. km. and is inhabited by approximately 262,000 people. Al-Kuwait has three ports: Ash Shuwaykh, Mina Al Ahmadi, and Kuwait City. Kuwait City handles all international flights to and from Kuwait.

Al-Ahmadi : Al-Ahmadi spread over 5,120 sq. km. has a population of almost 400,000. The capital of this province is Al-Ahmadi. Al-Ahmadi has the maximum number of oil refineries. Locally it is called home of Kuwait Oil Company. Abu Halifa, Mangaf, and Riqqa are the important residential areas of the province.

Al-Farwaniyah :
Kuwait Province of Al-Farwaniyah lies to the south of Al-Kuwait. It has an area of 190 sq. km., and a population of approximately 623,000. The city of Al-Farwaniyah having a population of about 84,000 people is the capital of this Province. This province of Kuwait is a mountaineer’s paradise. Mountaineering, skiing and mountain biking are the notable tourist activities in this province.

Al-Jahrah :
Al-Jahrah is the largest province of Kuwait with an area of 11,230 sq. km. The province of Al-Jahrah forms the northern, western and south-western regions of Kuwait. Al-Jahrah, a port city is the capital of this governorate. The province has a population of almost 273, 000, out of which only about 28,000 people stay in the province capital Al-Jahrah.

Hawalli :
The Kuwait Province of Hawalli is perhaps the mostly densely populated with about 490,000 people spread over an area of only 80 sq. km. Hawalli is surrounded by Al-Asimah (Al-Kuwait) on all sides.

Mubarak al-Kabir :
The province of Mubarak al-Kabir lies to the south-east of Al-Kuwait. Till 1999 it was a part of Hawalli. Mubarak al-Kabir named after Sheikh Mubarak Al-Sabah, is the sixth and latest province of Kuwait. Covering an area of 100 sq. km. it has approximately 177,000 inhabitants.

Demographic Features of Kuwait

Kuwaiti citizens accounted for 40% of Kuwait’s total population in 2011, the rest is foreigners. The majority of Kuwait’s citizen population is Muslim; there are no official figures, but it is estimated that 60%–70% are Sunni and 30%–40% are Shias. Kuwait has a native Christian community; in 1999, there were 400 Christian Kuwaiti citizens.There is also a small number of Bahá’í Kuwaiti citizens. The country has a large community of expatriate Hindus, Christians, Buddhists, and Sikhs.

Source of the above information is: